Skip to main content


Home  /  About AMC  /  Governance

AMC was formally established as an institute of the University of Tasmania in January 2008 in accordance with the Commonwealth government's Maritime Legislation Amendment Act 2007 following the repeal of the Maritime College Act 1978.

AMC (previously the Australian Maritime College established under the Maritime College Act 1978 of the Commonwealth) is the primary national institute for Australia focusing on the maritime sector and has national and international roles in training, education and research.

AMC is continued in existence as an institute of the University and will operate in a manner that is consistent with the pursuit of the mission and strategic plan of the University.

AMC has an Advisory Board (the Board) appointed by the Vice-Chancellor and a Chief Executive (the Principal) appointed by the University. The Chair of the Board is appointed by the Vice-Chancellor. The Board is accountable to the Vice-Chancellor.

AMC Advisory Board 2024 meeting dates

  • B075 - Tuesday, 12 March
  • B076 - Thursday, 09 May
  • B077 - Tuesday, 01 October
  • B078 - Friday, 13 December - or Tuesday, 10 December (tbc)