Skip to main content

Research Project Excellence Rewarded

Home  /  About AMC  /  News & Events  /  Research Project Excellence Rewarded

AMSA's Rob Maher presents maritime engineering student Neil Rothwell with a certificate and a $250 prize.

AMC Maritime Engineering students' theses undergo expert scrutiny

Final-year Bachelor and Master of Engineering students honed their presentation skills and gained invaluable industry feedback on their thesis projects at the Australian Maritime College’s Maritime Engineering Research Conference on Friday, October 25, 2019.

The annual conference marks the culmination of a year's hard work and research during the last year of their maritime engineering degrees.

A total of 81 presentations, 71 Bachelors and 10 Masters students, were delivered to a panel of 30 external assessors, the majority of whom travelled from interstate to attend.

Students were required to deliver a 15 minute presentation and participate in a five minute Q&A session

Co-Unit Coordinator of the final year Research Projects Associate Professor Gregor MacFarlane said the fact that over 80 per cent of the assessors travelled from outside Tasmania for the event, highlighted the truly national reach of the AMC maritime engineering degree programs.

A total of six awards were presented for the best and most innovative presentations, each student receiving a certificate and $250. The recipients of each award and their research thesis title are as follows:

The Australian Maritime Safety Authority provided two awards which were presented by Rob Maher.

  1. Winner: Fergus Wilson, “Multi-Criteria assessment to identify promising sites for the co-location of wind, wave, tidal, solar and aquaculture infrastructure in Tasmania”.
  2. Winner: Neil Rothwell, “Experimental and numerical investigation into the structural response of vented fluid backed parabolic shells subjected to impact loads”.

OMC International provided two awards presented by Dr Mohammadreza Javanmardi.

  1. Winner: Jake Stanley Harris, “Experimental and numerical investigation into the use of axially crushed thin-walled tubular structures as impact energy absorbers”.
  2. Winner: Michael Dunn, “Manoeuvring prediction of an underwater vehicle through a coefficient based method”.

A KPMG Prize was presented by Dr Vikram Garaniya (AMC) on behalf of Sally Calder.

Winner: Julia Blackman, “Investigation into the heave and pitch motions of a surfaced submarine in head seas”.

Thrust Maritime Prize was presented by Keegan Graham-Parker.

Winner: Thomas McLean, “An investigation into the resistance of a surfaced submarine”.

Published on: 30 Oct 2019